EDVARD MUNCH hears Columbus discovered America

Leif Ericson Day is approaching—October 9. All of us Nordic types are getting ready for big celebrations. It takes plenty of Goggling to make a celebration. So while looking through the great Viking ship stuff at http://media.photobucket.com I ran across the notorious Edvard Munch painting, Skrik, and I finally got it—Eddie’s true intention—the origin of The Scream.

It is a self-portrait. Here’s what happened. Eddie is walking down Ekeberg Hill above the Christiania harbor. He has just visited his sister Laura who is confined to a mental hospital. She’s manic depressive. Eddie only suffers from relentless melancholia. Anyway, as Eddie walks across the bridge he passes two guys. One says to the other, “History books all say that the Italian fugleskemsel, Christopher Columbus, discovered America!”

Well, suddenly the sky around Eddie turns blood red and the fjord and city become blue-black. He stands there trembling with anxiety and he senses an infinite scream passing from his bloodless lips and moving outward through all of Norway and beyond.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fairlee.wordpress.com/2009/10/07/edvard-munch-hears-columbus-discovered-america/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I usually dont post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. Kind regards from france

    • Thanks for your nice comment. I just hope to have some fun with this blog. Gives me a break from the work on longer novels. I lived in Bordeaux for several months, but that was years and years ago. Nobody has such wonderful food as you do in France. How I loved it there.

  2. Pretty funny, Fairlee. I guess poor Leif didn’t get the credit due him for discovering America first, but neither do we hear anything about him enslaving the Native Americans, so unlike Columbus, his record is clean. Sometimes being famous “ain’t” all its cracked up to be. For example, Jon & Kate and their poor little eights. Eunie Boeve

    • Thanks for the comments Eunie, I just have to have some fun. Life otherwise is dull and boring.

  3. Oh my! I’m scream too. Nice blog, Fairlee, with catching stories.

    • Thanks Mary. I just try to have some fun. It takes the edge off.

  4. I’m Norwegian, and I had no idea there was something called ‘Leif Erikson day’ in the US. But that is one brilliant picture,haha. Nice work!

    • Hei Linn,

      Thanks for the comment. Well, Lief Erikson day is not yet a national holiday, but soon will be I hope. It seems we’re dropping poor old Christopher. He’s too closely associated with exploitation of native people who already lived here. Also increasing evidence from archeology and anthropology point to very early exploration by people from Greenland. The Kensington Rune stone (1362), the Norse Sagas, and a whole bunch of theories based on the idea that the Norse actually stayed in North America and blended with Native American tribes all indicate that history got it wrong. But of course, history reflects who does the writing at the moment. Now it even looks like the Algonquin Indian languages are closely tied to Old Norse.

      Exciting stuff. Stop by my blog again. I try and do things on Norway. My grandmother was born somewhere in More og Romsdal, near Kristiansund or Sunndalsora, I think. My book is a tale of her immigrant experiences working for the famous Cowboy Artist, Charles Russell, in Montana.

      Mange tusen takk,

      Fairlee Winfield Author of BUFFALOed

  5. you’re truly a just right webmaster. The site loading speed is incredible. It kind of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a magnificent task in this subject! deaekkakcfba

    • Mange tusen takk, John. Try my new book on Amazon, “Burma Shave Days and Evangelist Nights.” Just out!


Leave a Reply

